Experienced Telluride Sexual Assault Defense Attorney

Sexual assault charges can be filed when someone is accused of intentionally intruding upon or penetrating another person sexually and without consent. Colorado law also stipulates that sexual assault crimes include unwanted sexual intrusion or penetration on victims who:

  • Are misled into believing the perpetrator was a spouse
  • Are incapable of providing consent due to unconsciousness, mental impairment or disability.

Telluride Defense Lawyer Jon R. Fee has extensive experience defending clients against various types of sexual assault charges. As a former prosecutor and skilled trial attorney, Mr. Fee is highly effective at:

  • Predicting and countering the prosecution’s strategies
  • Crafting and presenting the strongest possible defense case
  • Fighting for the best possible outcomes

Have You or a Loved One Been Accused of Sexual Assault? 

Call (970) 335-9278 or Email the Law Office of Jon R. Fee, LLC For a Free, Confidential Consultation

Are Sexual Assault Charges Misdemeanors or Felonies? What Are the Potential Penalties Upon Conviction?

The details of an alleged offense will impact the severity of sexual assault charges. The table below shows the different types of sex assault charges in Colorado, along with the associated penalties for each.

Type of Sexual Assault

Level/Severity of Charge Jail or Prison Time Fines
Statutory Rape Class 1 Misdemeanor 6 mos. to 2 yrs. (jail)

$500 to $5,000

Sexual Assault
(no force)

Class 4 Felony

2 to 6 yrs.

$2,000 to $500,000

Sexual Assault on a Child (no force, threats or pattern of abuse)

Sexual Assault on a Child (15 to 17 yrs. old) by One in a Position of Trust

Sexual Assault
(with force or drugging)

Class 3 Felony

4 to 12 yrs.

$3,000 to $750,000

Sexual Assault on a Child (with force, threats or a pattern of abuse)

Sexual Assault on a Child (younger than 15 yrs. old) by One in a Position of Trust

Gang Rape, Rape Involving a Weapon or Rape Ending in Serious Bodily Injury Class 2 Felony 8 to 24 yrs.
(16 yrs. to life with sentencing enhancers)

$5,000 to $1,000,000

In addition to incarceration and fines, penalties for sexual assault convictions can include (and may not be limited to) probation or parole and a court mandate to register as a Colorado sex offender.

How Can I Fight Sexual Assault Charges?

The circumstances and evidence related to your case will impact the best strategies for fighting sexual assault charges. In general, however, some options for sexual assault defense cases can include arguing that:

  • There was no sex, and the allegations are false.
  • The sex was consensual.
  • The defendant has been wrongly identified as the perpetrator.
  • The defendant did not know the victim was intoxicated or impaired by drugs.

Contact Experienced Telluride Sexual Assault Defense Lawyer Jon R. Fee

If you or a loved one has been accused of sexual assault, contact experienced Telluride Sexual Assault Defense Lawyer Jon R. Fee for important legal advice and the strongest possible defense.

Call (970) 335-9278 or Email  the Firm for a Free, Confidential Consultation.

Skilled at helping the accused successfully navigate the criminal justice system, Mr. Fee knows how to empower his clients to:

  • Avoid mistakes that could harm their case
  • Protect their rights and interests inside and outside the courtroom
  • Build and frame convincing defense cases
  • Fight for the best resolutions possible.

Telluride Criminal Defense Lawyer Jon R. Fee is licensed to practice in the states of Colorado and Maryland, as well as in the U.S. District Court for the District of Colorado. His longstanding record of extraordinary defense representation and success has earned him a 5-star rating on Facebook.